Bay of Bengal

The Bay of Bengal is the largest bay of the world which occupies the northeastern part of the Indian Ocean. It is surrounded by Bangladesh and West Bengal of India to the north, India and Sri Lanka to the west and Myanmar and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands to the east and the sea looks like a triangle in shape. The southern border of the sea lengthens as an imaginary line from Dondra Head to Sumatra.


The Bay covers an area of about 2,172,000 km�. Padma, Meghna, Jamuna (branch of Brahmaputra, Ayeyarwady, Godavari, Mahanadi, Krishna and Kaveri are the rivers flowing into the Bay. Cuddalore, Chennai, Kakinada, Tuticorin, Machilipatnam, Vishakapatnam, Paradip, Kolkata, Mongla, Chittagong and Yangon are the very important ports of the bay.


Seaports and Islands

Sea ports: Important ports of the bay are Chittagong and Mongla in Bangladesh; Krishnapatnam, Chennai, Vishakhapatnam, Kolkata, and Pondicherry in India; Yangon in Myanmar.

Islands: Among many islands in the bay Andaman, Nicobar, Cheduba and Mergui groups are very important. Only 37 islands of Andaman and Nicobar Islands are inhabited.

List of Seas in Indian Ocean

Andaman Sea
Arabian Sea
Bay of Bengal
Gulf of Aden
Gulf of Oman
Mozambique Channel
Persian Gulf
Red Sea
Timor Sea