Black Sea

The Black Sea, an inland sea which is surrounded by Europe, Anatolia and the Caucasus and is eventually connected to the Atlantic Ocean through the Mediterranean and Aegean Seas and various channels.


Black sea is connected by the Bosporus channel to the Sea of Marmara, by the strait of the Dardanelles to the Aegean Sea area of the Mediterranean and by the Strait of Kerch to the Sea of Azov. The sea divides Eastern Europe and western Asia.

The Black Sea covers an area of about 436,400 km2 (168,495.0 sq mi) and maximum depth is about 2,206 m (7,238 ft), and volume is approximately 547,000 km³ (133,500 cu mi).


Batumi, Burgas, Constanta, Giresun, Istanbul, Kerch, Kherson, Mangalia, Navodari, Novorossiysk, Odessa, Ordu, Poti, Rize, Samsun, Sevastopol, Sochi, Sukhumi, Trabzon, Varna, Yalta, and Zonguldak are the important cities that lie along the shore.

List of Seas in Atlantic Ocean

Adriatic Sea
Gulf of Mexico
Aegean Sea
Gulf of Sidra
Alboran Sea
Gulf of StLawrence
Argentine Sea
Gulf of Venezuela
Bay of Biscay
Ionian Sea
Bay of Bothnia
Labrador Sea
Bay of Campeche
Ligurian Sea