Bay of Biscay

The Bay of Biscay, also known as the Cantabrian Sea, is a gulf of the northeast Atlantic Ocean which is situated south of the Celtic Sea. It is located beside the western coast of France from Brest south to the Spanish border and the northern coast of Spain west to Punta de Estaca de bares.


The Bay covers an average depth of about 5,723 feet (1,744 m) and maximum depth of about 9,151 feet (2,789 m). It is house to some of the Atlantic Ocean's fiercest weather. Especially during the winter months, large tempest occur in the bay. Weather becomes severe when the winter begins.


Rivers: Spain: Bidasoa, Oiartzun, Urumea, Oria, Urola, Deba, Artibai, Oka, Nervion, Ag�era, As�n, Miera, Pas, Saja, Nansa, Deva, Nal�n, Navia, Eo, Landro, Sor, France: Loire, Charente, Garonne, Dordogne, Adour, and Nivelle are the main rivers that flow into Bay of Biscay.

France: Bordeaux, Nantes, La Rochelle, Brest, Bayonne and Spain: San Sebasti�n, Santander, Bilbao, Gijon are some of the main cities that lies on the coast of the Bay.


The bay is the home for some species of whales and dolphins; but only in few places the beaked whales such as the Cuvier's whale can be seen often.

List of Seas in Atlantic Ocean

Adriatic Sea
Gulf of Mexico
Aegean Sea
Gulf of Sidra
Alboran Sea
Gulf of StLawrence
Argentine Sea
Gulf of Venezuela
Bay of Biscay
Ionian Sea
Bay of Bothnia
Labrador Sea
Bay of Campeche
Ligurian Sea