Wadden Sea

The Wadden Sea lies in the southeast of the North Sea and it is located between the coastline of northwest Europe and the range of Frisian Islands. The sea is the habitat of many biological species.

The Wadden Sea extends from Den Helder in the Netherlands in the southwest to its northern border at Skallingen which is north of Esbjerg in Denmark. Its total length is about 500 km and the total area is about 10,000 km².


Islands: The islands around and in the Wadden Sea are collectively known as the Wadden Sea Islands or Frisian Islands; it is named after the Frisians. The outlying German island of Heligoland, although racially one of the Frisian Islands, is not situated in the Wadden Sea.

List of Seas in Atlantic Ocean

Adriatic Sea
Gulf of Mexico
Aegean Sea
Gulf of Sidra
Alboran Sea
Gulf of StLawrence
Argentine Sea
Gulf of Venezuela
Bay of Biscay
Ionian Sea
Bay of Bothnia
Labrador Sea
Bay of Campeche
Ligurian Sea